Take a close look at this photograph, taken straight out of CNN.com’s front page today (2/20/08).

I really hate having to waste my time on who Photoshopped the image so that McCain’s teeth look like the Emporer from Star Wars while Obama’s teeth look so white, they’re blinding (CNN? AP? Someone fess up!)? Now grant it, I’m not crazy about either candidate but I do get flustered when the media does these little touches in order to influence your decision one way or the other.

Here’s another photo of McCain taken candidly at an election rally. Get a good look at those chompers

mccain

Again, I understand he’s not totally into the teeth whitening regiment but do those look as bad as the CNN photo? Perhaps we should google another image and make sure we’re not imaging things.

Click on this image if you want to get up close and personal. See what I mean? Teeth are naturally grayish so clearly, he’s practicing good hygiene (perhaps a visit to the orthodontist could help as well but that’s another post for another day). I tried to find another photo to compare with but he mainly smiles with his mouth closed. Almost reminds me of how Austin Powers smiles when he’s being reminded of the advancements in toothcare.

What about Obama? Is that smile as intense as a 200W light bulb? Google search reveals this photo taken from the US Senate website.

Not bad, not bad. Here’s a candid shot taken from NY Magazine’s website.

Clearly there’s a point I’m trying to make in all of this and it doesn’t have to do anything with oral hygiene or these candidates. If I’m trying to sell you a car and I send you a photo of a waxed and polished vehicle that shimmers in the light of the sun, are you convinced enough to buy it or do you go for the weathered car that’s rough on the eyes but has lasted a lot longer than expected? Again, it’s not about the car, but whether I can sell you anything without you having to ask to open the hood and see the engine, or vehicle history report, or how many miles are on the odometer. If I want to sell you something desperately enough, I will do what it takes to make the sale.

